home | faq | advertising | Internet Marketing Tactics | contact


Cheating Spouses
Acid Reflux
Broadband Internet
Cerebral Palsy
Computer Forensics
Debt Consolidation
Drug Rehabilitation
Email Marketing
Forex Trading
Hair Removal
Heartburn Treatment
Identity Theft
Medical Alerts
Network Storage
Online Degrees
Payday Advances
Prostate Cancer
Royal Caribbean
Stock Trading
Tooth Whitening
Ankle Bands
Protein Shakes
Cafe World
City of Wonder
Mafia Wars
Pet Society
Treasure Isle
Final Fantasy
World of Warcraft
Starcraft 2
Game Testing
Premenstrual Tension
Allergic Reactions
internet marketing tactics


Harry Potter Favorite Subject
Y E K Us
22harry Potter22 22goblet Of Fire22 22house Colors22
22will To Death22 Mort
About Hufflepuff
Aca B
American Casting Calls For 22lavender Brown22 In 22harry Potter And The Halfblood Prince22
Bedspread Harry Potter
Browser Based Roleplaying Harry Potter
C H U Gl K
Harry Potter Houses Characteristics
Charms And Spells For Kids
Harry Potter Houses Characteristics
Colors Of The Houses Of Hogwarts
Cultural Aspects In Harry Potter
Difference Between Uk American Harry Potter
Draco Malfoy
Draco Malfoy As Antagonist
Draco Malfoy
Harry Potter American Uk Differences
Harry Potter Audio Tapes Online
Harry Potter Audio Tape Online
Harry Potter Audio Tapes
Harry Potter Curtains And Bedspread
Harry Potter Books In Different Languages

Privacy Policy


Click here for Satellite TV software for your PC *NEW*

The Harry Potter books contain many interesting themes that have been fodder for readers and critics alike. Many have speculated about the relationship between muggles and wizards in the Harry Potter books. What is the nature of this relationship, and is JK Rowling, the creator of the Harry Potter book series, trying to make a point about our own modern day society? This is a brief overview of the relationship between Muggles and Wizards in the Harry Potter books, and what readers and critics have made of this often-strained yet always interesting relationship.

One of the most important things to understand about the relationship between muggles and wizards is the notion of blood purity. Blood purity has to do with the number of 'magical' ancestors in a character's family tree. Some witches and wizards are more pure than others. Those wizards who are deemed not "pure blood" are more likely to experience prejudice and discrimination from other characters. These characters are likely to view wizards with anything but a completely magical ancestry as inherently inferior. These wizards are also liable of calling non-pure blood characters as "mudblood." This is an offensive term in the Harry Potter books that is used to taunt characters who are not considered to come from a purely magical ancestral lineage. However, some close readers and critics that noticed that a character's magical abilities do not seem to correspond in any way to their magical lineage.

In the Harry Potter universe, there are three main categories of wizards. All wizards can be sorted into one of the following categories: pure blood, half-blood, and muggle-born. Some of the characters in the series seem to believe that pure blood wizards are inherently superior to the two other classes. Pure blood wizards also argue that they have no muggle blood or muggles in their genealogical pedigree at all. JK Rowling herself has answered some reader's questions about this, saying that in order to be considered pure blood, all the character's grandparents must be wizards. Some of the most notable of the pure blood families mentioned through the series include the family of Draco Malfoy, the Black family, the Weasley family, the Longbottom family, and the Crouch family.

It should be known that not all pure bloods believe that being pure blood is superior. For instance, the Weasleys are one of the oldest pure blood families in the series, and they do not demonstrate any prejudices toward muggles or muggle culture. Also, the relationship between Harry, Ron and Hermione demonstrates how different blood purity categories can mix easily. Harry is a half-blood wizard, Ron is pure blood, and Hermione is a muggle-born wizard. Moreover, the Weasley family does not show any qualms about "mixing" with other categories. For instance, Ron appears to be coupling with Hermione, Harry and Ginny Weasley appear to be an item, and the Weasley's oldest sibling is set to wed Fleur Delacour, a witch of mixed heritage. Sometimes pure blood wizards are attacked with the derogatory slur "blood traitor." This term is used to describe those pure blood wizards who mix or fail to establish a prejudice against non-pure bloods.

The second category of wizards is half-bloods, like Harry himself. Half-blood wizards are those with one or more muggle ancestor. These are the most common types of wizards. Muggle-born wizards are those that are born to muggle-born parents, or who have muggle-born grandparents. Those who are fanatical about blood purity are known to despise muggle-born wizards most of all. The most prominent muggle-born character in the Harry Potter series is Hermione Granger.

Please use the form below to comment on this page:

Email Address: (kept private)
Let me know if my message is replied to: yes
Please enter the digits 513 in the box. This keeps away spam robots: requests per minute. Scraper Total time: 0 seconds. Current time: 2:14:11 AM